Poets logo

A Part

...not anymore

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
Image by crAIyon.com

thank you

for the invite

but i don’t think

i’ll be taking part

my attendance cannot

be deemed mandatory

so watch as i finish

before you start

watch my back

as i leave

and to never darken your door

again

you expected me to give

one hundred percent

but you didn’t account

for the pain

the constant pain

that plagues me relentlessly

is both a burden

and a curse

but you couldn’t see past

your precious numbers

and your lack of heart and respect

only made things worse

but no allowances

did you afford to me

in what was to be

my time of greatest need

you want me to come in

so you can sack me

you want to make

and see me bleed

the best you will get

from me for now

is an updated med-cert

in the mail

because i can’t be bothered

any more

this is not a "how-to"

merely a cautionary tale

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    I mean, wow

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    It's empowering and tragic at the same time. Loved the short, sharp phrases. You never fail to impress me :)

  • This was so powerful and liberating!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is so powerful in an almost understated way. I love how you've used so few words to get the point across. Very relatable!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Done and dusted. Some of this was very relatable! 🙌 Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.