Poets logo

A Pantoum

A poetry challenge

By Denise E LindquistPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
A Pantoum
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

There are more formal interpretations of how to write a pantoum, but I’ve decided to try this one, mainly because it’s easier.

Write 8 lines of poetry

Then put them together using this basic structure: Lines 1, 2, 3, 4, Line 2, 5, 4, 6, Lines 5, 7, 6, 8, Lines 7, 3, 8, 1 Tree Langdon

I remain conflicted

even knowing he is addicted

Do I want him away from me

someone else can’t make this decision you see.

~

Even knowing he is addicted

he and his girlfriend have separated

someone else can’t make this decision you see

it was taken away, yet it still has to be you and me.

~

He and his girlfriend have separated

does this require the addiction to be treated

It was taken away, yet it still has to be you and me

it won’t hurt anything, and it may help you see.

~

Does this require the addiction to be treated

do I want him away from me

it won’t hurt anything, and it may help you see

I remain conflicted!

~~~~

It was first published by Write Under the Moon on medium.com for a challenge.

sad poetryPantoumheartbreak

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your Pantoum!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Impressive!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mark Graham11 days ago

    Good work. Actually all these stanzas could be separate poems and a way to cope with an addiction.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    I haven't tried this form yet. Very intrigued...

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.