Poets logo

A Nightmare From Last Night

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ryuk from Death Note.

The last thing I thought of before drifting away into dreams, was a monster stalking and prowling my room.

Somehow that demonic clown, with eyes that undressed and judged me, followed me down the path of uncertain reality.

As he crouched behind my bed, creeping around the dresser, he came with me, traveling through my rapid eye movement.

In a world that didn’t make sense, I kept running up and down a flight of floating stairs trying to avoid him, trying to catch the correct elevator.

I didn’t want him to see me or to smell the fear that lingered on my dress.

Even the flowers on my dress began to wilt as I saw him emerge from the silver doors.

Something got lost in translation and I’m eating chow mien in a fancy restaurant.

There’s beautiful pictures on the walls, is it Monet?

The comfort of food and stimulating colors hug me, swaddle me in joy, assuring safety.

I dab the side of my face gently with a napkin.

My exquisite manners are interrupted by a very rude gust. Some creature caused a disturbance.

I wasn’t expecting to hear screaming and my napkin floats to the floor, more gently than when I groomed myself.

All that comfort begins flying in the air, sticking to the walls and to Impression, Sunrise.

I’d never feared a sunrise till now.

Our table flipped as the crowd ran out the doors.

As for myself: I found comfort in hiding in the kitchen.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.