Poets logo

A Nice Day

Spent well

By Nick WardmanPublished 9 months ago 1 min read

In my garden, midday sun, a shimmer caught my eye,

An alien descended, sailing down from up on high.

"Hello, Earthling," it proclaimed, "I've travelled from afar,

To listen to some records and laze beneath your Earthly star."

We popped some beers and raised a toast to interstellar ties,

Then kicked back in the hammocks, and stared up at azure skies.

We cued up some King Crimson, and then a bit of Yes,

The alien swung to the beat, impressed by Earth's finesse.

"Oh yes," he said, and hummed along, "this really hits the spot,

It's nothing like the tunes on my home planet of Zorblatt."

We laid there spotting cloud shapes, as the afternoon grew long,

Then I threw on some Pink Floyd and played my favourite song.

As evening neared he sighed and said, "It's time for me to go,

My cosmic ride awaits me, in the golden afterglow."

With a wave, it lifted off, to traverse the cosmic maze,

Leaving me in wonderment, and in a prog-rock daze.

That alien and I, today, we'd spun a tale so grand,

Of beers, and rock, and hammocks, in this perfect Earthly land.

Now every time I gaze up to the great celestial sphere,

I'll think of my green rock fan friend and wish that they were near.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Nick Wardman

A civil engineer by day, dreamer by night.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Lenita Lei9 months ago

    I liked the creativity and flow of your work!

Nick WardmanWritten by Nick Wardman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.