Poets logo

A mother's love

She knew

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
15
A mother's love
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Eight months, five days, and seventeen hours ago

You were conceived

From that moment I already knew

That you would come to be

~

I was told by everyone

To be extra cautious

To keep my health in mind

Because you might not be the one

~

My body was already frail and weak

Simply carrying you could kill me

But I did not care

Because I knew you were the one

~

I couldn't explain

To my partner or the doctors

All I could say was mothers intuition

Not that any of them listened

~

They kept pointing out how many I had lost before

I told them I knew

I still remembered the names of all four

They were etched into my memory forever more

~

Eight months, five days, and seventeen hours ago

You were conceived

Nineteen hours of labor later

Holding you swaddled against my chest

~

Never once did I doubt that you were the one

That I would feel your heartbeat matching my own

Looking at you now with those big blue eyes

I know this was meant to be

~

Being born biologically male I have no real clue of the trials and tribulations that come with pregnancy and childbirth. Too often though have I witnessed women being discouraged because the Doctor or the husband “knows best”. A mother's intuition can begin at the moment of conception for some and to ignore it is fool hardy at best and negligent at worst. I have also seen the moment when a mother and child lock eyes for first time and it is one of the most beautiful moments that I've ever seen. I hope you enjoyed this poem. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. You can now also pledge 3 dollars a month to me and help support me as a creator. If you do, you get the benefit of having my stories at the top of your subscription feed anytime I post something new. Till next time.

love poems
15

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.