Poets logo

A Morning Story

Brief glances are stories without endings.

By Leigh FisherPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
The dirty wall of a subway station. (Photo by Auseklis on iStock)

He tosses the knife in the trash at the train station

so casually

just like a dozen others

toss out their coffee cups or used tissues

he disposes of this object in a place so decrepit

the trains can barely move for more than a day

before the tracks fail

and things start to break

the cameras are too old

giving fuzzy, black and white feeds

to a guard stifling a yawn

and fielding pointless questions

of "why won't my card work?" and

"I'm two cents too short, can you let me through?"

the knife sits in the trash

buried by others' useless items

but it begs the question

as all the commuters walk along

why dispose of a seemingly fine blade

in a place where everyone walks away?

I wonder, but like the others,

I have to catch my transfer

"And it could be nothing,"

I tell myself

since I'll never have an answer

or the bravery to ask

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Leigh Fisher

I'm a writer, bookworm, sci-fi space cadet, and coffee+tea fanatic living in Brooklyn. I have an MS in Integrated Design & Media (go figure) and I'm working on my MFA in Fiction at NYU. I share poetry on Instagram as @SleeplessAuthoress.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.