Poets logo

A moment frozen in time

I could fill an ocean of tears for the beauty that held a spear at my heart

By Sam WijesinghePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

On a moonlit evening

the tamed waves of the ocean

lapped against the railing

where I leaned and stared into the distance

I’m aboard a splendid liner

that boasts a party that can never be finer

I dragged the cold air in portions

savouring the sweetest wine in doses

I turned the minute I felt the ring

that rang through the railing across the right wing

there she leaned in grandiose splendour

and I instantly drowned in her beauty, so tender

She looked at me with a curious gaze

her eyes sparkled bright despite the evening haze

the party has frozen, and the air is now free

for all I can sense is the presence before me

She approached me in haste

and time seems to have lost its pace

her slender hand ran through her curls

it happened so fast, I gasped and my head swirls

Butter brown strands of hair turned to black

her smooth skin was replaced with a crack

that gave way to a thousand little scales

and her breadth grew shallow when she inhales

I was rushing to her like a bee

when she slid past the railing and into the sea

the salt spray stung my face

but as I said, I never left her gaze

Her hair clung tight to her face

moonlight danced in the pupils of her eyes

there was a mystery to her smile

that warmed my lips for awhile

I am merely a man half broken

to have fallen for a damsel from the ocean

I have taken the plunge with bated breath

unknowing that she would drag me to the depth

We held hands to dance

while blanketed by the deep blue expanse

she wrapped me in her tail fin

alas, that was the last warmth I felt from within

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sam Wijesinghe

Committed to writing whatever pleases me. I let my imagination run wild. No rules. No restrictions.

instagram: @samwijesinghe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.