Poets logo

A Mind Awakened, Can Never Go Back

Freedom Awaits The Willing

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
A Mind Awakened, Can Never Go Back
Photo by Mandy Naleli on Unsplash

Lost in a haze for what seems like forever

I sit here alone - after years spent together

Tangled into a mess, no one wants to untangle

Like a cold lonely night - in the depths of December.

Awakened somehow, by a melody golden

Woke me up from a dream, left me feeling emboldened

My mind now alert, awakened from slumber

Crawling out of the pit, grief had buried me under

Found the courage to speak - things I had kept in a box

Hidden deep inside me, all my worries and thoughts

Brought me here to this place of extraordinary dimension

Where, what I feel and say, are given proper attention

No longer afraid of feeling nefarious

I can never go back, after such an experience

To the place I once dwelled, a mere shell of myself

Used for another one's purpose, then placed up high, on a shelf

No, I prefer where I am now, among the living and joyous

Where I'm free to be me, and happiness is contagious

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    I’m happy for what you’ve written very nice 😀

  • JBaz2 years ago

    You hit all the right feelings. Beautiful

  • SJ Covey2 years ago

    Wow, incredible ur so talented

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    I love this display of a journey to positivity! :)

  • I like how you get In touch with your emotions and self worth. Good job

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful poem, as always. Well done.

  • Thayrile2 years ago

    Like it 🤩

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.