Poets logo

A Message to William Wordsworth

"The Child is Father to the Man" - William Wordsworth

By HoaramPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
William Wordsworth is quoted with saying "The Child is Father to the Man". What this means to me is: "The experiences of the child give birth to the behavior patterns, thought processes and societal outlooks of the man (or person) you become. This poem says how I feel about that quote - That I'm still the same mentally ill and foolish child, but grown into a man now.

A letter to Wordsworth, a letter so dear, for his original quote:

If the child has fathered the man;

If that statement’s factual,

Than that must explain,

Despite medication train,

Why my vision is greyly saturated,

And tactful;

Why my love is filled with hatred,

Or why I obsess over those who give,

And why I have the same mindset as the

Attention-seeking lonely kid.

That would explain

Why still to this day,

My emotions are unstable,

And I crave for the grave;

Why my outlook is bleak,

And I’m always in denial,

Of why I get taken advantage of,

But trust the next gas-lighter.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Hoaram

Just trying to get by doing what I have a passion for. Please consider leaving a tip if anything I say stirs something inside you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.