Poets logo

A Mermaid's Literary Odyssey

A Mermaid Message For Children

By DaphsamPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
11
Illustration by Daphsam

I am a Mermaid of the deep blue seas.

Who glides through the ocean blue,

alongside sea turtles and dolphins, my faithful crew.

Emerging from the sea to saltwater breezes.

Neptune may be the god of water and the vast sea,

I am the symbol of understanding and wit.

A learner of many things when I commit.

Education is the key.

From singing enchanting songs ashore

to saving sailors

who think they can be whalers,

there is much more that I long for.

My brain is a sponge

like the soft corals swaying

on ocean floor with fish darting around them playing.

Ready to take a literary plunge.

Read, read, read!

A gift for your brain,

with all you wish to obtain.

Let new ideas fill your young head.

There is no better way

to discover your passion.

You might enjoy reading about whimsical fashion.

Be whisked away for a day of wordplay.

Open your book

for adventures and fairy tales,

fun mysteries that have you follow gold coin trail.

Even if it is just a picture book.

A gift of advice from me to you,

flap your fins,

dive into a book, your journey is ready to begin

because learning new things is a fun activity to do!

nature poetryperformance poetryFamilychildrens poetry
11

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    I love it! Keep up the god work!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I thought mermaids did the opposite of saving sailors 😁

  • I loved how you used the mermaid to convey such a powerful message! Loved your poem!

  • To learn something new each & every day is the goal of everyone who is wise, be they human or mer.

  • Aaliyah Madison5 months ago

    Well written!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Hey Daphsam, do you think we need a section for Children's stories by itself. I mean, kids don't read here, but it all gets lost within the adult crush. our lovely poetry is great.

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Oh, I love this! This is so uplifting and encouraging. Beautifully done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.