Poets logo

A Matter of Pride

A love letter of mixed emotion

By Blake SPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Matter of Pride
Photo by Gaining Visuals on Unsplash

My days are now boring, unexciting.

I wake up, treadmill, coffee, work, and mom.

There is no marching here, no cheering there.

I long to do something more colorful.

.

The computer boots up five days a week.

Responding to emails with “kind regards”.

Is there even a mere moment of pride

if I fear the backlash of daily life?

.

Intermittent texts to friends; checking in.

Each keystroke sends an outpouring of love.

Feelings of displacement from my beliefs.

Still, I don’t belong with those who live proud.

.

After school pickup, appointments, then home.

Homework, feed the cats, clean, time to go now.

Not an empty hanger, no shelves, or shoes.

This room is not confined, but not open.

.

Now practice is done, dinner is ready.

The bathtub is filling and I’m so tired.

My path is a straight line, but I am called.

My faith is solid, and yet I am called.

.

My nights, as expected, are tedious,

With goodnight kisses and sweet dream wishes.

I long to hold each of you in my arms;

to give you the gift of a parent’s heart.

.

Who am I to share in your life of pride?

A believer and friend, called to embrace.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Blake S

Inspiration comes when friends follow their dreams. Writing helps me escape from reality into the world my mind creates, even if it is only for brief bursts at a time.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.