Poets logo

A Loss of Lass and Brother

folk song

By NJ ReedPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
3
A Loss of Lass and Brother
Photo by photo nic on Unsplash

A pity for you in these days for they are just so tryin' While a younger lass I used to know would know I’m best when lyin' So gather round all far and wide and tell me if you think it’s true That the story of Ol’ you-know-who was one all black and blue .

As so often is the case it was a woman’s heart at play When a youthful man and his dearest friend strolled 'long the white sand bay. The heavens parted and the sun shone down upon the utter beauty As the youthful men knew there and then that she was now their duty .

The butterflies inside me felt like a roaring twister And all we could think about was what it’s like to kiss her. We share a glance of hope, of nerves, of lust and love, and fear Leads me to believing, that there might be somethin’ here.

Then I got that dreaded nudge that lightly hit my arm From my dearest, oldest, closest friend, before he turned on the charm. With a wink and a smile he trotted down to get a better look At the woman I would fall for, and the whole thing had me shook .

I knew I didn’t have much time so I did not hesitate To do what I knew must be done, before it was too late And so what did I do? You ask, and this here was the trick I made her laugh and smile and blush, hoping it would stick .

When I told her she is beautiful I meant it to my core Although it wouldn’t shock me if she’d heard it all before. That doesn’t mean I didn’t mean it, because I assure you this was true Her skin was soft, her smile wide and her eyes an ocean blue.

Then came the moment that I knew my friend was done He didn’t want to tell her that she might just be the one. But that notion didn’t scare me off and I told her this was so A risky move and foolish, yes, but did I regret it? No.

So then came the day to say the words in front of those who matter And here it comes, the thing I did that caused her heart to shatter. A hush fell over all the crowd and the priest he did not speak As they waited with their bated breath, it was no time for meek.

I looked by baby in the eye but the words just won’t come out It seems to me and her, that I’d been hiding all this doubt. And weep she did all down the aisle, and out the very back And I stood there, still in denial, my mouth agape with slack.

Here we are, back to the now, and so you know my shame Who was she? You ask, but I dare not say her name. Now carry on you fellow souls, and find your one another Or lest you end up just like me, having lost his lass and brother.

vintagelove poemsart
3

About the Creator

NJ Reed

Therapy, work, and passion--but which is it most?

(I'm not a robot, but I'm also not Richard Brautigan)

Click here to Tip if you feel so inclined :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Oh God, this was so tragic! I wasn't expecting that at all!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    This is great! Sad and great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.