Poets logo

A Loss (My Roman Empire)

A loss

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6
A Loss (My Roman Empire)
Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

You're so good at building blocks,

so nobody can get through to you

When I said I loved you

You thought it was a myth

You thought it was a rumour

Forever I wanted your kiss

I wanted a future

You're my Roman Empire

You're what I think of every day

You're where I hide when I don't feel safe

Right now I'm suffering a loss

A loss that will never seem to penetrate

You're so good at finding what is lost

Told you I felt saved by you

Wanna still tell you I love you

I'm sure I will at the end of this

Never was a rumour

Still craving your kiss

I still want a future

You're my Roman Empire

You're what I think of every day

You're where I hide when I don't feel safe

Right now I'm suffering a loss

A loss that will never seem to penetrate

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    So poignant and emotional. Also, would you be entering the Villanelle challenge? You should because you're really good with using repetition in your poems!

  • Straight from the heart, honest feelings. Beautiful

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I feel you might overwhelm her and she don’t know how she can handle the big emotions you bring out in here. Give her time and space

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.