Poets logo

A look into the past

I am not the person Who has been me Just last week and the month before

By Sara9bPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
A look into the past
Photo by Donald Giannatti on Unsplash

The strangest thing

has happened —

There’s been a disconnect,

I am not the person

Who has been me

Just last week

and the month before

The grief of losing her

A loss set deep within me

She’s a foreign dream

A wavering flick of a light

And I can’t bring myself

To remember, how to act

Like that girl, once

upon a time

She acted brazen

while I, seemed to lose

All that courage -

(I begin to doubt,

She and I were ever,

even the same kind)

And a tote back full of

Hopeful thoughts

And feet that weren’t afraid

to dance

Our shadows are

of the same matter

And our eyes wrinkle

at the same jokes

And while our dishevelled hair

glistens in the sunlight, like

scattered coins,

our choices set us apart:

I want her to be back

So I can continue

The things

She’s began

I am a walking ghost

Of my former self

But amongst the rubble

I think I detect, the scent —

The old foundations

that remain

I’d like to think

I can rebuild on these

To become the girl from my past

again, one day

unafraid but also, enhanced

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sara9b

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SWritten by Sara9b

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.