Poets logo

A little life

A crescent shaped life during lock down.

By Heidi GowthorpePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

My world is smaller than it was yesterday.

A small puddle, a drop in the ocean I once swam in.

My new world, It is strange and unfamiliar, I can cup it in both hands.

Each morning on waking I peer through dusty glass to see the world that I knew before.

I sit sipping coffee and watch it move by, eery and silent a tumbleweed film set.

Abandoned by us all for the love of thy neighbour, safely shut behind windows in there own home next door.

My new world is small yet somehow more precious, a fine, startling piece of gold, glinting in the dirt and the midday sun, more thankful and cherished than before.

My days in between these four walls overflow with empathy and compassion, now that the dirt has been brushed away I find only love to be left.

It overflows, peeking through windows and cracks in the walls. A slightly open window, the chimney, a door, Stretching a hand of kindness on and on through the world that I lived in before.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Heidi Gowthorpe

Poet, musician, writer and Lyricist based in the UK.

Sharing little snippets of my secret soul, page by page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.