Poets logo

A Little Bit Off

Mental Health Matters

By ElizabethPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Little Bit Off
Photo by Sid Balachandran on Unsplash

I’ve always enjoyed driving

Cruising down gravel roads with no destination

The music playing as loud as I can stand it

That's when I feel calm

When I feel most like me

But when the drives start to last for hours

And the music is replaced with silence

That's when I know things are just a little bit off

When I spend all day in bed

And it takes me hours to reply to messages

Things are a little bit off

I’ll always watch the same shows over and over

I find comfort in knowing the ending

Knowing the jokes

Knowing I don’t need to worry about the characters,

Because even in the rough patches,

There’s only two more episodes until things get better

But when watching these shows starts to feel like work

I know something is just a little bit off

I’ve always been a procrastinator

My experience has taught me

That if I wait until the last minute to do something

It will only take a minute

But when I start to miss deadlines

When the smallest tasks seem impossible

That's when I know

It’s another day feeling just a little bit off

When minutes feel like hours

Yet entire days pass in a matter of seconds

Things are a little bit off

And when life as a whole feels entirely underwhelming

When an “off day” turns into an entire week

After I’ve missed one too many deadlines,

I’ve turned off the music, then hit pause on the tv indefinitely

When I’m only going through the motions

Then maybe then it’s time to acknowledge

That things might be more than just

A little bit off

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth

College student, writer, artist :)

I mainly write poetry, I'm currently working on compiling and publishing a book of poems themed around Spring. Any works here with the subtitle "Spring: The Anthology" will be a part of that collection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.