Poets logo

A Line Per Life

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

Why did you leave?

Why didn't you tell me what was going on?

A promise when we were 12 means more than the promise you made to never leave me?

I'm so sorry for your pain.

I'm so sorry that you couldn't stay.

I want you back.

I need you back.

I wish I weren't the one to have found you that day.

I wish I weren't the one to have found you that day, part II.

I wish I weren't the one to have found you that day, part III.

Your story remains unsolved.

Our story remains unfinished.

How?! WHY?!

Why?

...why...?

Please...please be untrue.

Please, don't let this be real...

We were just kids. Why did you do this?

You're not in pain anymore...I just wish you didn't have to go.

You promised me you were better...why did you lie...?

WHY DID YOU LIE?!

Why didn't you listen to me and stay home?

You didn't deserve the abuse. I hope you're at peace.

How do I keep going knowing you're all gone?

Why didn't you tell me about the group you were with...

Just kids...we were too young to understand...

Please, come back to me...I beg of you.

I'd give anything for one last chance to be with you.

I'd give anything for one more hug.

I still have our pictures. They still make me laugh.

Thinking of you hurts.

Your story will live on through me.

My heart beats for you.

I wish I could've saved you...

I love you. So much. And I'm sorry.

sad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. Your support is much appreciated. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    An emotional and heartfelt poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.