Poets logo

A Life Lover's Lament

A ghost in the fertile desert of life

By Adam EvansonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
A Life Lover's Lament
Photo by arty on Unsplash

I have been to the top of the mountain

I have been through the valleys of hell

I have seen all manner of evil

I have seen things of beauty as well

I have passed through the kingdoms of heathens

Full of demons, betrayal, and lies

I have passed amongst a great many pagans 

I have crossed many bridges of sighs

I have fought with ghosts as a duty

I have lost and won without cause

I have loved and lived with insane beauty

So many battles and futile wars

​Holy Moses came down from the mountain

Holy Moses, he called out my name

Holy Moses, I have drank from the fountain of life

I have tasted both pleasure and pain

And now the day is done

And looking back I can see where I went wrong

And though I have passed through the valley of hell

I have scaled many mountains of bliss

I have danced in a dream

I have loved in a stream

I have sung with a scream

And lived a life of no regrets

And it all came wrapped in a kiss.

​All through my life

I've made mistakes along the way

Now the time has come

To put these foolish things in place

All through my life

I've made mistakes along the way

Now the time has come

To put these foolish things away

love poems
2

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    A relatable and easy to read, flowing poem. Nice job 👌❤️🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.