Poets logo

A Letter to my Wild Child

Part 1 In case tomorrow never comes

By Nancie BrownPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Part 1 : A Hurtful Act

My Dearest Darling,

You should know me well enough by now to realize,

I have no tolerance for two types of acquaintances.

I CANNOT STAND-ARROGRANT ASSHOLES

AND IGNORANT DUMB ASSES.

Arrogance, Ignorance, and Indifference -

Profound Character Flaws of those lacking good judgment and good common sense.

They do not lack in intelligence, they just care not of consequence,

they harbor a stubbornness to dismiss without thoughtful consciousness.

Daughter you have wronged me again,

filling me full with frustration and pain

helpless to help you, my thoughts dwell to obsession

I need a number that will either stop this or lead to more questions

Don't want harm coming to you , never want you hurt,

I would stop pushing if I could be heard and assured

What I don't want is to piss you off

with a pointless demand, I want you to understand

It is my job to protect you, to think about the very worst.

Because a world without you is one in which I could not exist

and I know a world without me will be one you will regret.

I see you so little these days, I just need to know you are always safe

I need to know that you are just a phone call away

and before we hang up, there won't be anymore to say

except I love you no matter what's been asked or said

that's the very least I accept and expect-which leads me to this:

DO GOOD CHILDREN HANG UP ON MOTHERS THEY LOVE?

If I'm still a great mom, do I say nothing at all of this rude kind of share?

Blame it on your youthful immortality or you being too stoned to care?

I feel like I'm the one to blame for these bad manners

I couldn't be there for your growing up and when it really mattered

but this biproduct of an obvious unsupervised childhood

has provided you a tool that is just mean and offensive to most

And when you cut me off and cut me with it

I just feel more hopeless and responsible for it

Such an unkind and lazy bad habit

Stop hanging up as an answer God dammit

I may have raised you long duistance

but I know this

you are way smarter and you can find a different way to react

one that is with compassion and tact

one you can be proud of because you are way better than that.

.....continued part 2

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nancie Brown

vocal.media/poets/bio-in-poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.