Poets logo

A letter to my mother

Poetry take two

By Stevie HowardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Mother and Myself

Dear Mom,

I always knew how much I love you and what you mean to me.

However, only after having my own child

did I realize how much I meant to you. How much you loved me.

I always knew that you were my best friend.

We had an unbreakable bond

You knew all my favorites.

My favorite drinks, food, shows, and songs.

You knew everything about me, as you should have.

Only now do I understand.

I find myself often doing the same things you did.

Singing the same songs

and rubbing my daughters back to comfort her the same way you would me.

I can still hear you

singing in the car

holding my hand and telling me that you love me.

I still see you,

smiling at me when my daughter does

that same spark and fire in her eyes.

She is me

As I am you

But I miss you

and

I can still feel the regret

That I had been so stubborn right before you died

I hope that you forgive me…

I know you do, but I don’t

I wish you were here, so I could say I’m sorry

But I often find myself apologizing to the stars

Trying so hard to ignore the void in my heart

She is showing me the color in the world

But some days are still grey

Desolate

I feign excitement on Mother’s Day for her when all I really want is you

I resent every year that I never got to celebrate being a mother with you

My birthday is melancholy

Because no one enjoyed it as much as you

And each one I celebrate is another year without you

But I am being strong, even when I want to give up

Because only now I know, what you always knew

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stevie Howard

Well hello there.

I'm a nerd, a mom, and human that is addicted to caffeine. I suffer from some intense writers block and I even wrote a poem about it. I love to write and aspire to publish my own work in book format.

One day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.