Poets logo

Rubber Band

Poetry from my nightmares

By Stevie HowardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Rubber Band
Photo by Michael Walter on Unsplash

I fell, get back up

Derailed, but back on track

Life is crazy but I always bounce back

All I need is a little sleep,

Some time to think,

A cup of joe and I’m back on my feet

Ready to dominate this town,

these streets

It’s like being a rubber band

get stretched thin before you snap back,

Ready to do it again

From second to day to month to year until

You break, you snap, the mask cracked.

the stopper in the tub is pulled and you drain,

swirling down into your worst fears

cry and scream but to no avail

It’s a vicious cycle that you can’t break

Seemingly has no escape

You’re a new

Like a rubber band,

You bounce back

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Stevie Howard

Well hello there.

I'm a nerd, a mom, and human that is addicted to caffeine. I suffer from some intense writers block and I even wrote a poem about it. I love to write and aspire to publish my own work in book format.

One day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.