Poets logo

A letter to my half-sister

Epistolary Poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
A letter to my half-sister
Photo by Nastya Kvokka on Unsplash

Dear Half-Sister,

How did we go from hugs to silence?

Clearly, you don’t care for my existence.

Despite that, however, I cannot hate you.

I thought I did at first, but hate is to have intense dislike,

And what I hated with all my heart was how you

refused to communicate your feelings. Tell me,

Why did your mom tell me these feelings of resentment

you had towards me? Just because when we were five,

I said I only have one sister. Is that what started

All this hate you have towards me? I remember when

you said to your best friend that you hate me.

But it doesn’t matter, your negative views will not drown me

I’m sick of our family saying we must love each other.

For a long time I wanted you to love me, to be excited that

I would visit you during the weekend, I wanted you to share

Your happiness, your anger, so much more, but I cannot

force you to pretend, and I’m no longer interested in having a bond.

I wish I could say so many wonderful things about you, but the only

thing I can say is that you’re such a talented painter, I remember being

A bit jealous of your amazing art skills, and I felt like a total loser, I can’t

explain why. I guess it’s because you used your time wisely, and I was just

on Facebook all the time.

I confidently used to say that the day you contact me I will laugh so hard,

But now I’m thinking that the day you reach out to me I’m not sure if I will ignore you.

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammed Darasi12 months ago

    Very powerful story to share. It's unfortunate, but whenever a relationship (of any type) is one sided, it can be quite draining. I always say to myself: if there is something that is annoying you (anything), and you have no power over it.. then just let it go and don't think about it. Thats how I usually handle things that might stress me. If you did all you could but nothing is changing, then just let it go.. thinking about it won't really yeild anything except stress

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Loved this. No matter how hard we try we can’t change how people think, we sometimes just have to let it go. 😌And that is sad. Really Felt this. But who knows what is just around the corner I sometimes think, I.e how a life event might change their perspective to help strengthen the relationship again..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.