Poets logo

A letter to my ex, Carleigh

How Your Departure Taught Me to Love Myself

By Sarah BeattiePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A letter to my ex, Carleigh
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dear Carleigh,

I hope this letter finds you well

Though it's been to long to dwell

That I've grown since we last spoke

And now my heart is no longer broke

As I pondered over your sudden departure

My being became an unstable structure

My heart sank deep in a well of despair,

And my mind struggled to grasp the sudden affair.

You left me in a state of pain

But looking back, it was a gain

For in your absence, I found love

A love that came from up above

I learned to cherish my own worth

To put myself first on this earth

No longer did I need your validation

To find joy and affirmation

So thank you for walking away

For it led me to a brighter day

Now I can say with all my heart

That self-love is where I start

Sincerely,

Sarah

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Beattie

I am 27 and nothing is going according to plan. The last few years have had a lot of ups and downs as I navigate through a quarter life crisis.

Follow me on Instagram @Beattisa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.