Poets logo

A letter to Education

A letter poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
A letter to Education
Photo by Susan Q Yin on Unsplash

Dear education,

It’s my mom’s dream to see me graduate, and I want to make her proud.

But I wonder why you are so damn expensive.

I wasted my money on books when I could have just searched the internet,

Even tik tok helps me to comprehend complicated topics.

It saddens me that people pay so much money for you only to end up being miserable.

I do not want to finish college and work for the rest of my life at some factory.

And no this is not to say shame on those who don’t have a career,

But it would devastate me to graduate and not work within my career.

I look at my daughter and think about how I want to be an inspiration for her.

There are days where you give me a headache,

I sometimes can’t understand the points professors are trying to make during lectures.

I also wonder why you are making me take courses irrelevant to my career.

Listen, I want to be a WRITER, and I thought I would be done with math

since I got a A on it in high school. I want courses that cause so much sparks within me.

I wish you could understand that we students have so much to deal with and

I only wish for you to understand that we all want to get an education that won’t make us regretful.

love poemsslam poetrysad poetryinspirational
11

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Carmen Troy3 months ago

    "Every time I sit down to start my Dissertation, I get horrible dreams. I wanted help, and Research prospect { https://www.researchprospect.com} came to the rescue. I simply can’t thank them enough for supporting me with their education."

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar5 months ago

    What a wonderful thought!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    You speak so many truths.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I feel for you and I agree!! I am a long-time lover of learning and would have happily remained a college student just absorbing it all, but there is so much wrong with our educational system. We don't need renaissance graduates anymore unless that is your goal. It should be affordable and relevant. I hope I see progressive changes in my lifetime. Good luck to you!! Great piece!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I feel your angst!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    😩❤️. This is such a good topic for this!! 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.