Poets logo

A Letter to an Old Friend

(Alcohol)

By Dylan Published about a year ago 2 min read
7
A Letter to an Old Friend
Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

Dear Alcohol,

It's been so long since we spoken, I thought I'd write you a letter. Do you recall when I was heart-broken, and you made me feel better? You patched up my heart as you tore up my liver, and came back every morning with pain to deliver. You always gave me a headache, I guess it's only fair, because I never stop talking whenever you're there. You always gave me the courage but you blurred out my visions, inspiring thoughts to make bad decisions. Sometimes I wish that I'd never met you, but with the good times we had, how could I regret you? I'll never forget you, as I lay you to rest. However, I have a new friend named water and man she's the best.

When I met you down south I thought we'd reconnect, "it's only a week why not? What the heck!" For a moment I thought, why did I ever leave you? Until after three shots, then it's why'd I believe you? Walking around without a clear line of sight, feeling so drunk underneath the sunlight. My brother did laugh to see me this way, an embarrassing act of a sloppy display. Stumbling around truly a mess, I knelt before God to duly confess. I told him I sorry for acting this way, that never again will I provoke my dismay. My greatest mistake was the wine with my steak, so I told you my darling that I could not stay. Goodbye and good riddance, so long my old friend. I forbid you admittance, it's a farewell that I send.

Sincerely,

Dylan

---

Hi everyone, I hope you enjoyed this poem!

A little backstory behind it: I was sober since October until I went to Jamaica for a week in march and decided that having a few drinks was a good idea. I don't regret it because it reminded me why I quit drinking in the first place. The feeling I get when I'm drunk is amazing except I often don't remember it and when it's over I feel horrible. When I'm sober I have clear focus and feel like a child, I have energy, knowledge, and it doesn't have any negative effects on my health! I won't judge anybody if they enjoy the company of alcohol, however I will gladly encourage anyone who considers making the walk to the brighter side! I don't regret my decision of becoming sober (even though it's hard sometimes) and I have no doubt in my mind that you wouldn't either!

If you enjoyed this poem, check out some of my other work!

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Dylan

Hello! I am a writer, poet, rapper, and musician trying to make it in this crazy world! If you like my poem's please leave a like and subscribe!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Great style. Very heartfelt and I appreciated the context. 😊👍✨

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Oh, you visited my homeland. Hope you enjoyed, Glad that you have the bull by the horn. Be strong and hang in there,

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I like the poet feel to this piece and how relatable it is! So well thought out and executed! Nicely, Dylan! Also thank you for being brave enough to share a little piece off yourself with the reader! I appreciate and admire your vulnerability!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Clever and very well-done Dylan. Glad you have your monster by the tail!

  • ❤️👣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.