Poets logo

A Letter of Love from a Parent to a Child

A Heartfelt Message of Understanding and Appreciation

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 16 days ago 2 min read
Like
A Letter of Love from a Parent to a Child
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

My Dearest Child,

As the years pass, I find myself growing older, and I ask for your patience, just as I have patiently cared for you throughout your life.

Remember those times when I fed you and dressed you, teaching you the basics of eating well and dressing properly? When the day comes that I struggle with these simple tasks, please be understanding. Don’t mock me; instead, be patient, just as I was with you.

If you notice me repeating stories or getting confused, please don’t interrupt or become frustrated. In your younger days, I read your favorite stories repeatedly until you fell asleep. I ask for the same patience now.

There may be moments when I’m at a loss for words in our conversations. Please allow me the time to gather my thoughts, and if I can’t find the right words, don’t worry. What truly matters is our time together, not the words we exchange.

Don’t scold me if I resist taking a shower. Remember how many tricks I used to employ to coax you into taking baths when you were a child?

If I ever get lost when I’m out, please don’t get angry or leave me alone. Help me find my way back, just as I tirelessly searched for you when you were a child.

Should my hands shake and accidents happen, don’t chastise me. Recall how many times you spilled food or made a mess as a child, and I embraced your imperfections.

When my legs weaken, please lend a helping hand, as I did when I guided your first steps in life.

As I draw near, don’t feel sorrow or resentment. Stay close, as I did when I helped you start your life.

You will one day realize that despite my imperfections, I always strive to give you the best. When my time comes, be there by my bedside, holding my hand and comforting me. Don’t resent me for not leaving you a grand legacy. Know that I dedicated my life to raising you and providing you with the best education.

I am afraid and anxious as I approach the end, and I never anticipated how scared I would be just before I passed away. I don’t wish to go alone; I want you to be with me, as I have been with you throughout your life. It is the only thing I desire.

So, please understand me, assist me, lend a hand, and guide me with love and patience. In return, I will repay you with a smile and a love that never wavers. My child, I love you.

Parents in this world endure so much, and one day, they are gone, leaving you with a weight of unfulfilled gestures and words. If your parents are still with you, love them more deeply than ever. If they have left you, remember that a parent’s love is the most selfless love in the world. Be kind to your parents.

With all my love,

Your Parent

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthlove poemsinspirationalFamilyfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.