Poets logo

A Letter of Love

A poem inspired by a letter to her children, found in a drawer after mom's death

By Phillip LoFasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Letter of Love
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

I had this premonition

To write you this letter

Being so close to death

I want to talk to you

But struggle to put to words

What is so deeply engrained in my soul

You are my flesh

You are the air that I breathe

You are my life

You are my thoughts in the morning

My thoughts in the day

My night of dreams

You ARE my thoughts

(You live in me)

Second only to the One

My most fervent prayer:

That you are filled with the spirit

And burn with desire to serve

I feel your love

And I see your fear

As never before

While dying here

You feel my sadness

For your impending pain

As never before

And never the same

A lot of pain

As you think of me

As never before

And once again

But from seasons of pain

The grateful remain

A resolve to live

Inclined to forgive

To love more deeply

I might write for pages

Of the beauty and joy

Of magnificent comfort you bring

Rather, I’ll make the time

To write of the gifts

In the fewest of words

Of your motherly love

Care like no other

A true defender

My protector

A trusted friend

Strength to the end

love poems
1

About the Creator

Phillip LoFaso

Lover of most types of music from Bob Marley to Beethoven. I write songs, poetry, short stories. I love to play guitar, and recently started painting and drawing again. Self expression can be very cathartic, as is playing music with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.