Poets logo

A Lesson

My lesson

By Katie Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1

What was it that spurred me so, to lash out without true cause?

What needless words spewed towards others for what? Some minor infraction of imagined slight? Some petty event?

What is released cannot be recalled. Only borne, it’s weight a burden.

I am sorry to have burdened us so.

You’d think by now I would have learned, learned to take the higher road of a more mature person.

Still I am human, flawed and prone to mistakes. As we all are.

That is no excuse.

I will strive to do better, I will pause and reflect before I fall victim to such callousness. Triggered perhaps by others needless remarks.

Lastly I ask forgiveness, that moment should not define us.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Kudos for your effort! Keep up the exceptional work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.