Poets logo

A Haiku About Haikus

Haiku...

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
A Haiku About Haikus
Photo by Jason Yuen on Unsplash

At the mercy of

moras, brevity packs punch

with thoughtful intent.

Authors Note:

Until the last challenge, I hadn't written a Haiku since high school English class, and that was a long time ago. Now I'm obsessed with Haiku. I can't stop my brain from spilling them all over the place- receipts, bill envelopes, voice notes...

In life, I've been trying (and mostly failing) to embrace the phrase "less is more" and continually working toward mastering the art of thoughtful intentionality and brevity ... Haikus are the perfect tool representing the physical manifestation of that idea, and it's clicking. So, I'll stop rambling and leave it at that, because... ephemerality.

inspirational

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Esala Gunathilake17 days ago

    Yeah we need their mercy when writing Haikus😂😂.

  • kory salajkaabout a year ago

    love this! this is how i found you - bc i, too, started writing haiku bc of a Vocal challenge and i can hardly stop myself. don't want to! the habit has been lovely for me and i can totally get why for you too in your own way. keep em coming -- i am loving it and i just started posting mine. i looked up haiku and found yours and read your note -- same! so here here.

  • Oh yes, Haikus are addicting! Loved this Haiku of yours!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Ah yes! Haiku are just awesome, aren't they? They require such intent and economy of words. I'm a huge fan as well. Yours is gorgeous! I am one of the co-founders of Auroras & Blossoms, a website dedicated to inspiration and upliftment in the arts. Every year, we release anthologies featuring the works of inspiring voices from around the world. In 2023, we would like to focus on haiku and senryu. Here is more information about A&B and what we do. The submission call is included in the article as well: https://vocal.media/01/current-opportunities-for-writers-authors-and-artists. Thank you for your time. We would be honored to receive something from you.

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Wonderful thought!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yes!!!! I don't know that I ever wrote a haiku before these challenges but now I find myself addicted as well. Every single word has to be chosen with the utmost care. It thrills and satisfies the word nerd in me. This was fantastic!!

Kristen BalyeatWritten by Kristen Balyeat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.