Poets logo

A Guilty Man

The pain

By David AlemanPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

A careless word and she turns away, running and in tears

He didn’t mean the things he said, he is scared, so full of fears

What happened has gone and what happens is now

“I need to make her trust me, but I don’t know how?”

He is a man of honour, of strength and of pride

Her emotions are everywhere, there is no place to hide

She knew what he did how betrayal was his game

Yet with all of his honour he leaves her the blame.

What sort of a man are you when all you had is lost?

The sweetest caress you offer just feels like a frost

The cold in your heart is multiplied in your touch

She will never trust you, you hurt her too much.

My name is Guilt and I’m here for your life

Because you were greedy you have lost you a wife

Slowly with pleasure I will pile on your pain

No lesson to learn other than the need to refrain.

I will break you and feed her, your heart in will burn

For Guilt is my power, a lesson to learn

It will take ages for you to again be a man

She will tear down your fences and burn what she can.

They say you must fear a woman who has been scorned

I am Guilt I am everything, now you have been warned

You will try to say sorry and hold out your hand

She will spit on you , hit you, your blood in the sand.

I am a feeling, and I fill you with dread

For Guilt is a killer, leaving Guilty men dead

So grow up and stand up and tell me to leave

Don’t cry like a baby with snot on your sleeve

Guilt is a demon, a devil of the heart

You in your weakness created my part

Now I will leave you to rot in your grave

For you are too weak to fight the guilt that I gave

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

David Aleman

I am a tired, middle aged man. Artistic and sporty but broken and bruised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.