Poets logo

A Girl's Best Friend

to the best friend I needed, especially at this time of my life

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hate that I have no idea what happened to you,

even to this very day.

I hate that your owners are those I never want to talk about,

let alone find me once again.

Leaving them meant having to leave you

and I hated that.

Yes.

It was for my own good.

It was something I needed to do,

something that needed to happen,

but you were basically my best friend.

You may have had pointy ears,

four legs,

and covered head to toe in fur,

but you were my best friend.

When I felt like needing to escape,

needing to hide away,

you were there.

You were always there.

I could count on you.

I would count on you.

God, I miss you.

I wish I could know

how you're doing today.

I'm twenty-three years old now,

almost twenty-four.

Last we saw each other,

I was barely a teenager.

Hell, you would almost be

eighteen years old now,

wouldn't you?

An old man.

Don't worry, bestie.

No matter what life had in favor

for either one of us,

you have always been that little ball of orange fluff

in my heart.

Thank you for just being there,

for just being around when I needed some extra cuddles.

Thank you.

Butterscotch, I never forgot about you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.