Poets logo

A Four Letter Hymn

All I need is Love

By Nikki Torino WagnerPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
6

My made face is just a mask. Like a sly fox I try to hide.

A peek into my soul will show a sad girl with a past. A girl with a wish to get out.

Life has made me full of rage. A deep well of hurt.

I’ve lost a home, my best pal, mom and dad. Boys took from me too.

It made me hard not soft. But he told me I’m kind.

He says he sees me. Even if I don’t know who I am.

None of us are a sum of what we’ve done. Or what has been done to us.

It’s soul that is the core. I just have to win over the mind.

He is that mento. The beat of the drum to coax me to keep on.

So when I need help he is my hero. In an hour of need he is the hint that I am not lone.

When I cry he will hold me firm. If I’m on edge he will talk me down.

He is my spur and push to try in life. To get up when I want to lay back down.

A laud that won’t rest till I beat the fear that took my joy. A kiss on my lips or skin from him, is a balm to my pain.

I know now he is all I need. And that one word, sung as a hymn, love.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Nikki Torino Wagner

I know stories. After getting suspended for peddaling my own magazine, in grade school, I started contributing to the local paper's weekly column. In college, I co-edited, and won several awards, for our paper and literary magazine.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Destini Wilson10 months ago

    Love how our loves can see the good and kindness in us, even when life has made us hard. This describes your love so well 🖤

  • Erika 10 months ago

    I can feel every emotion. Love it

  • Amelia Moore 10 months ago

    This poem feels like dancing in the kitchen with your love. Beautiful

  • Mary Sumie10 months ago

    I love this. The raw emotion, the traumatizing past, the love and safety you now feel when he’s near! Truly beautiful, and a wonderful read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.