Poets logo

A Forgotten Journey

2002-2020

By Nathalie C.M. SabbaghPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Like
Speak to me

It was a beautiful day! The sky dome had opened its windows letting light shine through the clouds.

The warm wind felt like such delicate silk wrapped around my body.

The sweetness of Spring was invading my senses.

Who would have thought the distinct smell of mud to be so insightful?

I was at the very base of a tree overlooking a woman sitting by the sea.

She seemed so peaceful mounted on a rock.

Ah ...

The act of observation without thought!

I felt crushed by society offering me no time for such pleasures.

The birds would chirp as the butterflies fluttered.

The leaves of trees grew to protect blooming flowers.

Mother Nature had birthed a new cycle of life in my presence ... and it was good!

The act of observation soon turned into rumination.

The escape was impossible for I could not teach my mind to stop being rational.

It would be like asking the conscious to understand the unconscious.

Actively or passively one always thinks!

During the day as one breathes or at night as one dreams.

I think therefore I must be a rational beast!

I had separated a flower from harmony wondering when it would lose its beauty.

Inhaling the last breath of the red rose perfumed my mind with thoughts galore.

“What is the meaning of my life?” I asked.

“Where do I come from?”

“Was I already predestined to do something?”

The list went on until tears rolled off my face.

They shook the grass upon the wrath of their embrace now forming an auspicious-looking older woman.

My body got struck with all kinds of emotions.

In Awe I bowed down and cried out:

“Are you the all-knowing one?”

“No,” replied the elder. “I am but the mirror of her and my purpose is to help you seek the answers to your questions. This is why you must journey west past the mountains where you will find an enchanting river. Sit at the top of a rock near the fallen tree and wait until She appears.

You must go now and good luck!”

While wanting to thank her, she vanished and I embarked on my journey.

I ran through the wind branches scratching down my spine.

Years had passed and I had changed yet even in trying I would not quit.

Tired, I took the scenic route and for a moment I thought I could retire but pleasurable things would no longer matter, for I was one step closer to what surely was the enchanting river.

What an appropriate name!

Its waters were of a fresh turquoise that shimmered the souls who dared to look upon it because it was beautiful!

I sat down to absorb the view losing myself to an old forgotten journey.

What a moment!

I cried and cried for a little while.

So much time had gone by but I had discovered who I was.

The time spent along this quest was nothing short of a fantasy.

I looked in the water surprised to see the enchanting river reflecting the elder in me.

Excerpt from The Magdala by Nathalie C.M. Sabbagh

ProseinspirationalGratitudeexcerpts
Like

About the Creator

Nathalie C.M. Sabbagh

I don't see the world the same; none of us do, and yet, here we are, somehow connected with this greater intelligence called life, as part of the process and not as separate. These are excerpts from my books,

www.nathaliecmsabbagh.com

Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.