Poets logo

A Fool's Errand

Prose for the Soul

By Paul CannonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dented, tarnished, and torn

Ripped, rusted, and worn

Links litter the ground

Another loss, yet another lifetime revealed

The truth is once again found

No protection does it offer

No value, no worth, nothing about it will fill my coffer

Howling I pull, I twist, and grumble

Gritting my teeth I reach and reach to feel

Back to the earth I tumble

Resigned I sigh and shiver encased in its steel

Chipped, dull, and stained

Its edges can no longer cause alarm

No longer honed and uneven in weight

I find it to be just an extension of my arm

A pommel once boldly displayed and proud

Now only serves to hang my filthy shroud

Its grip is worn and tattered

Sitting coldly in its scabbard

Caked with blood

Soaked with sweat and tears

It has seen its better days

Displaying my mistakes through the years

Begging a glance for every passerby

Revealing my foolish whims and ways

Ruefully mended and stained

Glancing upward to the sky

Painfully asking asking why I even try

It has always been me, myself, and I

Leaping, falling, without a care

Not once did I think upon this obvious dare

Crawling back to my knees again

Silently I scream Please no more, I give, I yield

I will rise to feet, take, the reigns in hand, and leave the field

Clinching my fists I wipe some dirt from my muddy brow

Realizing my folly, at that moment, it has come to me now

I never had a chance, not ever, no way, no how.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.