Poets logo

A Finished Thoug—

Motherhood...amirite?

By Abbey StreettPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
9
A Finished Thoug—
Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

I just want to sit on the edge of my bed, hair wet, scrolling my phone, wrapped in a towel,

the shower was nice, though I couldn't stay in there forever.

I hear a cry from the baby's room, awake from her nap, you should probably get her,

and yet another little voice, "I'm hungry," it says from a distance,

that voice will only get louder, more persistent if you don't offer a snack right this instant!

"I just need to get dressed," I yell back, to whoever cares to listen.

I rip off the towel, skip the lotion, fumble for some clothes...curse these children.

A few moments of peace lost again, these days it's almost too much to plot.

The baby cries louder, the other one still hungry, I can't even finish a thoug--

I trip over a ball, don't make eye contact with the basket of laundry or the stain on the wall.

Baby out of the crib, change the diaper god it's smelly.

Give her a little tickle to hear the giggle, kiss the belly.

Baby perched on my left hip, grabbed the package of cookies, pour the milk, all with one hand.

I deliver the snack, god forbid he dies of hunger according to his cries and demands.

The rest of the day, the week, and the month are similar. I say to myself, it's really not a lot.

Don't look at me like that, I say to the neglected basket of laundry, I can't even finish a thoug--

I trip over the same ball, of course, there is still a stain on the wall.

Hop in the shower to get out of my head,

I just want to sit, hair wet, wrapped in a towel, scrolling my phone,

on the edge of my bed.

performance poetry
9

About the Creator

Abbey Streett

Life spoken through poetry.

Everything hurts

and nothing is free.

Currently a stay at home mama to two wonderful, crazy kiddos. Finding my voice through poetry, and desperately finding time to read and write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.