Poets logo

Blanks

When the mind has nowhere else to turn

By Abbey StreettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
22
Blanks
Photo by Nicolas Dmítrichev on Unsplash

My mind went blank for a bit

four days to be exact

I held your presence in contempt

the moment you decided to come back

You walked through that door

the one we never lock

and I was taken back to a year before

A moment I haven't been able to block

But again I am left alone wondering when all this will end

there were so many promises made

a growing list of problems to mend

Soon the heart goes blank

when the mind has nowhere else to turn

I've said so much, while so little you've heard

Perhaps silence will be stronger, the next time you return

heartbreak
22

About the Creator

Abbey Streett

Life spoken through poetry.

Everything hurts

and nothing is free.

Currently a stay at home mama to two wonderful, crazy kiddos. Finding my voice through poetry, and desperately finding time to read and write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.