Poets logo

A Fathers Love

A secret place between me, you and no one else.

By Aliyah AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

In a world we created, it takes my breath away. The thoughts of good and evil battle in my mind, but your presence calms them down. When the angels and devil are on my shoulder, I look to you. When the waves come crashing down or I can’t see where I'm going through the night, I follow you. You are my leader, you are my savior, no love I've felt has come close to yours. It is truly fascinating how you're always there for me. I have left you alone, in the dark corners of my mind, plenty of times. I would call and check in but wouldn't stay long, yet still you searched for me. You seeked and pursued me. How dare I turn my back on you? I was such a fool to think I could go on without you. I’d beg for forgiveness every time I return and you accept me saying "My child, I have never left you. I will always be with you, even when you feel you've left me."

I tell my friends about how amazing you are, Father but often forget to call and talk to you about our days. My friends ask questions like "Where is he?" and I say everywhere. They ask "Do you really believe he loves you? Is he really in your life?" and I say the same thing every time. "Yes! My Father adopted me when I was nothing. He builds me up everyday, even when I'm undeserving of his grace. He has molded me into something, but I'm still nothing compared to him. I don't believe my Father loves me, I know he loves me. He is present in my life everyday, whether I choose to notice him or not and that’s a true Father." Some friends laugh at me, some question my knowledge of my Fathers love and others seek what I have. They want to learn more about my Fathers love. We’ll have a conversation for minutes that usually turn into hours. I invite them to my house or one of my Fathers many houses. I tell them, he will adopt them too, if they'd like. I explain that my Father has rules, as every parent does, and the rules are overall for our protection and our good. Some seem hard and/or against what the world accepts, but it is his house and his rules to keep his children safe. Eventually, they decide whether to accept adoption or not, and if they will create their own word with our Father.

In a word we created, it takes my breath away. How my Father has several other worlds with my siblings that they created. We each have our own personal relationships with him, our own hideaway, with our own hidden treasures. I could not imagine going through life without him. He guides me along my way but still allows me to make my own choices, so I can learn and grow at my own will. Who am I to be selfish and not share him with others! I love our family, I have my favorites but he doesn't and that’s what makes him incredible! Everyone gets the same amount of personal love from him, no matter the time nor day or trouble we are in. He is always there for us and in our best interest. I hope our family continues to expand, so we can all talk about how wonderful he is and share with others who have yet to be adopted. My home is you, Father. My comforting place, learning place, shelter, place of peaceful slumber, place of growth, a place where I am nurtured. I feel so safe in your arms, no other love can compare. Thank you Father for continuing to let me stay home. In the world we created.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.