Poets logo

A Dream of Peaceful Days

Where my plethora of worries dissipate, and we can sit in gladness for awhile...

By Ellen StedfeldPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

Astounding how the smallest of things can set off such a chain reaction

Before I knew it my life as I'd known it became so subtly

Changed in ways both meaningful and

Discombobulating as I tried to

Effortlessly, excruciatingly, exuberantly

Find a path, now facing forward so

Go on then, take this chance

Heal and reinvent

Imagine worlds

Just beyond reach

Knowing that in consequence

Laughter is the

Medicine most sweet

Never quite entirely full

Onerous winds wait around the edges

Pretend they are not there and maybe someday they won't be

Quest for questions, ponder the possibilities

Rest in the perpetually roiling restlessness

(Secretly wishing for something just a little different)

Tired of the dilapidated structures falling down around my feet

Understanding it's only for a time

Verily, very soon

When there's a space for winding down & contemplating what I'd become

"Xeric" for thriving in lack of water, "Xenial" to host at last

You can visit me in the balmy existence I am dreaming of, and I may finally

Zzzzzz with the ease of a carefree confidant who lends her ear all afternoon

Free VerseStream of Consciousness
1

About the Creator

Ellen Stedfeld

Perpetually immersed in drawing, illustration, and creative experiments, at live events and @EllesaurArts.com

Community arts in NYC/Queens -- LIC Arts Open festival May 15-19th 2024

Love participating in challenges to motivate new work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Norreida Reyes3 months ago

    Nicely done! I especially love the quest for questions. It appeals to the reporter in me. The whole poem makes me want to go explore and write! I'll read it next time I get writer's block!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.