Poets logo

A Dream Beneath the Trees

Until we meet again...

By Forest WaterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I first met you in the moonlight, in my dreams beneath the trees,

Gently swaying with the red pines' branches waving in the breeze;

The frogs had calmed their chorus with the chilling of the air;

The stars and moon shown shadows down and showered me in prayer.

.

I was listening in silence, fully drawn into the night,

When I smelled a subtle scent and I saw a sudden sight;

Then the image of your face embraced my mind, as if a joke,

With the feeling of your love and the sweetest scent of smoke.

.

And the feeling wasn't fleeting as the smoke that fades away,

And the sweet smoke wasn't fading, so in wonder, there I stayed.

And I bathed within the breath of springtime air, so fresh and wet,

As I waited for a message from a man I'd never met.

.

Then you were standing by my side and I felt you touch my hand,

As my heart flickered with fireflies to float above the land,

Then collapsed again to infancy and weakness of new birth;

I held onto your hand as we sank down to the Earth.

.

I sat and stared into the place I knew your face should be,

And I felt your spirit's presence as my heart went running free;

Your hand molded into my hand, your fire fed my flame;

Static flashed between us and sent lightning through my veins.

.

Thunder echoed in the distance, coming quickly from the west;

Thunder echoed in my heartbeat, drumming loud and drumming fast.

Then suddenly, the storm blew in a song to join the beat,

And the voice of wind and rain called for the drumming of our feet.

.

We went running through the forest, we went racing through the rain;

We were splashing through the puddles when into a field we came;

As wind whirled 'round and chilled my skin, I lifted wings to fly,

And with the clouds, flew overhead across the churning sky.

.

I fell back down beside you and we watched the lightning play,

Ensnared within the moment where I wished that we could stay;

But as the rainstorm disappeared to show the light of dawn,

The scent of smoke was washed away, and with it, you were gone...

.

Many nights thereafter, I would rest beneath the trees,

And ponder on the magic that blew in upon the breeze

When you came in to visit me on that enchanted night,

And I know I'll meet you face to face... when the time is right.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Forest Water

I live with the forests and I flow with the waters. I am here to learn and to help the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.