Poets logo

A Double Edge Sword

List poem of better days and pain

By DaphsamPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
A Double Edge Sword
Photo by Venti Views on Unsplash

I remember what it felt like to run as fast as the wind.

I remember what the wind in my face felt like leaping over hurdles to win a race.

I remember chasing after my children through playground tunnels and swirling slides.

I remember picking them up and placing them on my hip with not a care in the world.

I remember performing my daily crunches to stay in shape.

I remember corking my body to gain maximum force before I brought down the iron to drive through the golf ball.

I remember twisting my body to have my tennis racket meet the yellow fuzzy ball.

I remember the day when lightning bolts captured my lower back, taking me prisoner for days.

I remember when the first white-hot nerve pain snaked down my legs.

I remember when the nerve pain happened the second time; it licked down to my toes.

I remember the nerve pain flashed the third time because I laughed too hard.

I remember the feeling when the stabilizing brace wrestled with my crooked back. It didn’t win.

I remember when sitting up in bed with no pain became an accomplishment.

I remember the day when the doctor told me to give up my favorite sports to avoid further damage to my spine.

I remember details of my back pain versus a life without it.

I remember!

I remember!

I remember!

listMental Health
7

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Xine Segalas3 months ago

    Powerful words - well done.

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Oh dear, this truly sounds heartbreaking. Hope you're okay!

  • This is intense Daphne!!! Very, very good!!!

  • I hope you're okay 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • May you remember days when the nerve pain restricted you but does no longer. May you remember days when you couldn't do the things you loved but now you can. And may those days come soon.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.