Poets logo

A Different Home

A Poem

By Josie BrownPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
A Different Home
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

Almost always, I look back with a smile to that place of my

Brother tripping and spilling spaghetti sauce on the white walls.

Candid moments that cannot be replaced in a million years.

Dad coloring the breadsticks green with crayon

Encouraging a roll of the eyes from mom and a

Faint scent of humor in the air.

Giggles stifled when getting in trouble,

Heat in our faces giving away our mischievous acts.

I never stopped for a moment to tell my parents I loved them, now

Jealous of my past, carefree self and it

Kills me to think upon the sparks that used to illuminate in their eyes,

Lighting up the house into a home.

Mom, I never knew how much you did for me

Never did I care to thank you or love you the same way back.

One day, I hope my own children can have dance parties with dad,

Pouring laughter into the atmosphere just as we did.

Quiet moments reflected our passion for life

Regret never reached the surface in this home with the

Soft, warm glow of happy hearts together.

Til the time came to leave, oh I couldn’t bear it

Until one day I met him ‘cause

Wherever I found him, I found home.

Yet home never seemed the same as it did before, though a new

Zest for life is found in this love.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ava Mack4 months ago

    I love this Josie! Especially this, "Jealous of my past, carefree self and it Kills me to think upon the sparks that used to illuminate in their eyes, Lighting up the house into a home." Just beautiful, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.