Poets logo

A Day of Solitude

Poems

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
8
A Day of Solitude
Photo by Danielle Dolson on Unsplash

Rain pours heavily against the windows, the sound steady and relaxing.

The fireplace spreads its warmth throughout the living room, the flames creating shadows on the ceiling.

I sit in my nook, letting my pencil write new words in my journal as the clouds and thunder roll past me.

This is one day where I am by myself, my thoughts uninterrupted by friends, family, or work.

Many people didn’t understand the peace solitude brought me.

How it cleared my thoughts and let my heart purge itself, allowing my creativity to flow with pen and paper

My cup of hot tea sits on my coffee table, its steam catching my attention.

I pause for a moment, tapping my pencil on my leg.

I reach for the cup, lifting it to my lips and taking a swig.

Turning to an empty page in my journal, I write about my tea.

The heat warming my cup, its rich amber color, its dark sweet flavor, the smoothness of the liquid across my tongue.

You could find inspiration anywhere, anytime, even in the smallest, most mundane things.

You just needed to open yourself to your surroundings.

I smile, sighing everything negative out of me, knowing it served no purpose.

This is my day of solitude, and I would savor every second.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more.

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Hello there! I just wanted to let you know that I share your poem here: https://vocal.media/poets/stories-you-should-read-today-part-1

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous and inspirational!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Those days are so important. A wonderful read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.