Poets logo

A day at the zoo!

Taking an alien to the zoo

By Silver Published 8 months ago 2 min read
1

They had heard of us but didn't quite understand,

Not until it landed and I took hold of its webbed hand.

This alien had landed to learn about us more,

and there were so many things to explore.

Where did I start, what would I show?

This poor alien didn't know where to go,

So I thought of the things I truly love,

and of the things it wouldn't see from above.

So my first stop with my new friend,

Was a petting zoo, but first it had to blend,

So we used a disguise to hide his strange ears,

as we didn't want to leave the kids in tears,

Then when used makeup to hide his blue hue,

And then we headed to the petting zoo!

The first animal we saw was a small woolly sheep,

And when the alien saw it, it started to weep,

It was in awe as I showed it how to pet the creature,

I somehow had turned into a farm animal teacher.

Next was a horse that stood tall and strong,

The alien reeled back like this animal was wrong,

After much coaxing, it did finally approach,

As I stood there like a horse-herding coach.

I told his stories, about how people like to ride horses,

And promised to take it one day on some horse riding courses.

Next was the rabbits, and I should of guessed,

This was its favourite animal so far it confessed.

The alien stroked it and picked it up for a hug,

And wouldn't put it down, like it was his fluffy love drug.

After a while, we came across some pigs and a donkey,

The alien's eyes were wide at all he could see.

We spent so much time, petting animals that day,

And when it was time to leave, the animal wanted to stay.

It asked me so many questions and learned so much,

But it was time for it to go, but it wanted to stay in touch.

I walked it back to its spaceship and it turned around,

It pulled back it's jumper and I let out a startled sound,

I should have explained that stealing wasn't seen as good,

As he pulled out a rabbit from under the hood.

He smiled as he pet it, and then said his goodbyes,

He then walked away with his rabbit and set off for the skies.

humor
1

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Lol, he stole the rabbit! I loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.