Poets logo

A Dash, Splash and Cash Rehash

The relook of finding a book in a nook

By Kelly A CurranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Johnny and I use our winnings to get away.

We’ve been hiding since that crazy day.

We helped the Feds crack a smuggling case.

And we are a target since they know our face.

I remember what I saw in the book I found.

And I’ve used my own Moleskin to write it down.

The jottings look to be from someone gone mad.

But the clues say there is more treasure to be had.

The Feds said to stay away and let it be.

Our curiosity drives us to check near the sea.

We jump in a taxi as soon as we land.

We know we can find more than just 20 grand.

We both feel the electricity as our hands touch.

But is it from our love or just the danger rush?

As we exit the cab the driver gives us an ominous warning.

There is no good to be found here unless it’s morning.

We deciphered the codes found in our little black book.

They have called us to a place that is obvious to look.

We’ve committed to a plan that seems quite crazy.

I’m now regretting my decision to not stay lazy.

The heat is rising despite the lack of sun.

As we get close to the water we hear the sound of a gun.

Diving for cover our mistake becomes clear.

The bad guys knew that we would go to the pier.

Johnny is searching for the best way out of this mess.

The only good option is to run and hope for the best.

The sand is too soft and there is no chance.

Once again we are caught in the dangerous dance.

We are taken to a place among abandoned rides.

There is no laughter here just the sound of the tides.

Odd lights casting shadows heighten my discomfort.

Faint voices start to rise and a horn blows like a trumpet.

I start to scream when Johnny is dragged out the door.

All hope becomes lost as I’m knocked to the floor.

Johnny and I could have left everything alone.

It would’ve been easy to have just stayed home.

We knew there were great risks and things could go wrong.

But the lure of more adventure was our siren song.

Now I’m sure that there will be no way to break free.

I’m resigned to the pain that will come to Johnny and me.

Suddenly I’m grabbed and told we’re going for a walk.

It’s going to be the end for me since no one will talk.

I’m completely drained and try one last shot.

I tell my captor I know precisely what they got.

I’ll give them what they want since it’s easy to show.

I’ve solved all the riddles and only need to be let go.

I’m spun around and now I need to brace.

But instead of a violent blow I see a familiar face.

Our Fed once again has come to the rescue.

He knew we would continue to chase every clue.

The mystery we’ve followed involves more than cash.

If we had stopped looking the world wouldn’t last.

I’m surprised and should be happy but I can’t care.

It’s Johnny I want to see and I need to know where.

The Fed is dripping with sweat and looks really nervous.

He’s stalling for time thanking me for my service.

At the water’s edge I spot what I can’t accept.

It’s looks like Johnny’s body with no life left.

How could this be the end of our story?

We were supposed to win the day and bask in glory.

Things change after I fall to my knees in despair.

My heart skips a beat when I hear singing in the air.

Johnny’s alive and the body is the bad guy.

We rush together and both start to cry.

A year later we are back with the Fed.

He’s reading our vows as we are wed.

Now we are certain that we’ve achieved the win.

We are forever indebted to our favorite Moleskin!

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelly A Curran

Writing for fun.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelly A CurranWritten by Kelly A Curran

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.