Poets logo

A Dash, Splash and Cash

How finding a book in a nook is all it took

By Kelly A CurranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Riding in an Uber and looking in a nook.

Much to my surprise I see a little black book.

The driver tells me to take it because it must be trash.

But what starts with lots of gibberish ends with clues for cash.

I meet my buddy Johnny who’s waiting for the show.

He tells me what I’m reading is not for me to know.

Before I can get an answer he grabs my arm to run.

Coming down the block is a stranger with a gun!

Turning down a dark alley, we are hidden from view.

We catch our breath and start to plan what we need to do.

Every line and page of the book has clues clearly laid.

If we follow each one closely, it’s a map to getting paid.

Reading all the scribbles the mystery is solved with clocks.

I exclaim to Johnny: The treasure must be at the docks!

Johnny says we can’t stop now since we’re in way too deep.

So following this to the end is the path that we shall keep.

Before deciding which way to go, big dogs begin to bark.

So we climb over the fence to take a shortcut through the park.

Rain starts to fall and we are seeing danger everywhere.

I know it’s super silly but I’m worried about my hair.

Johnny wakes me up when he pulls me to the ground.

He points to a large barge that shows me what he found.

I reach for our little black book, a companion that I love.

Each time I turn it over, it fits me like a glove.

Johnny wants to check things out despite both our fear.

He’ll go look up close and we decide I’ll stay here.

As I watch Johnny approach the ramp I see a person at his back.

But before I can make any move, my whole world goes black.

I awake in an unfamiliar place that smells of cheese and mold.

Johnny is behind me and his fingers are limp and cold.

As I try to stand up I struggle with what I see.

The door busts open and it’s the gunman running at me.

I’m tied to the chair so clearly I’ll be dead.

But the man sets me free and tells me he’s a Fed.

Guns are firing and we need to get out before it’s too late.

But Johnny is not getting up and it looks like death’s our fate.

There’s nothing left for me to do but to admit what I’ve concealed.

I lean down to sweetly kiss his lips so now my love’s revealed.

Everything stops for me as Johnny’s eyes flutter open.

The smile that comes across his face is filled with sweet emotion.

Before we can embrace the Fed yells that we have to go.

The whole place is filled with TNT and it’s about to blow!

We hurry through the door without a second to spare.

As soon as we reach the deck, we are flying through the air.

Landing in the cold water my breath gets taken away.

But hovering over my head, it’s the Fed to save the day!

Safely on the dock I’m shocked and feeling uneasy.

Out of the smoke Johnny comes and hugs me quite sweetly.

The Fed sits us down and says we’ve cracked the case.

Their only lead stopped calling and left without a trace.

Our clever interpretations surely saved the day.

For helping them find the treasure our reward is $20K!

The cash is nice and we are happy but our love is the true win.

And to think it wouldn’t have happened without finding a precious Moleskin.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Kelly A Curran

Writing for fun.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelly A CurranWritten by Kelly A Curran

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.