Poets logo

A Comfort You Can Keep

A mother’s love.

By AJ O’ReillyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
For you, my son.

I loved you from the moment you were placed upon my chest.

Your tiny, naked body squirmed, searching for my breast.

There was a brief reprieve, but then you cried out with a start.

At that very moment, you somehow stole my heart.

The doctors deemed you were a healthy baby boy.

The warmth from your tiny body brought me immeasurable amounts of joy.

On that day I learned what comfort could truly be,

The comfort of knowing you were finally there with me.

I continue to hold you, throughout the day and night.

My eyes grow heavier, the lack of sleep a small plight.

Your soft coos and little snores are worth every lost dream.

When you smile amongst the darkness you become my personal sunbeam.

You continue to grow, every second of every day.

I grasp at these treasured moments before they quickly drift away.

You sleep on me now, so adorable and carefree.

The comfort of this moment is where I’m meant to be.

I can’t wait to see you grow, see you laugh, and see you run.

You’ll know more than I’ll ever know, lead a life of blissful fun.

I’ll be there to comfort you through all the ups and all the downs.

You’ll always know the sight of mom and the way ‘I love you’ sounds.

Your presence in my life will always fill my heart with glee.

No matter where time takes you, you can always think of me.

Holding you in my arms, loving you more than words can convey.

You can carry the comfort of knowing your mother loves you, for all eternity.

childrens poetrylove poemsinspirational
4

About the Creator

AJ O’Reilly

I’m here to try my hand at something I love, hoping I continue to be inspired.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Writes2 years ago

    Omg I loved this so much!! Beautiful!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    So beautiful❤️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!! Hearted & submitted 💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.