Poets logo

A Collection of Small Poems with no Title because I aspire to be Emily Dickinson

"It would be Life- And Life is over there- Behind the Shelf" ~Emily Dickinson

By Becky :)Published 2 years ago 2 min read
1
A Collection of Small Poems with no Title because I aspire to be Emily Dickinson
Photo by Valentin Antonini on Unsplash

Welcome to my brain!! There are ten poems here, each scribbled down on a napkin, school worksheet handout, or in various notebooks. Rather than planned out and intentional, these poems reflect subconscious thoughts within the corners of my mind that beg to be written down.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where is life?

Is it there, behind the shelf?

Does it hide within my closet?

Has it run ‘way to that realm

Where missing socks and half-writ’ pœms,

Lost jewelry and pens and combs,

Each item which I once owned,

So incorrigibly dwells?

.

How it hides!

I am playing with a toddler

As he giggles at this game

He won’t explain but I must foster.

“Run in circles!” “Move that chair!”

“Look o’er here!” “Look o’er there!”

Kid, keep instruction to yourself -

I’ll take life from ‘hind the shelf.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is only “now.” It’s all that exists.

Future may be lost, and past fictitious.

Should I not flow with the winds of time -

My life be lost dreaming, or worse - left behind.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All artists get to choose

The way they’ll be driven insane -

The one by pursuing passion -

The other by turning away.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You taste like Honey dripped on my tongue -

Familiar, sweet, my body succombs -

I open for more, the comfort you bring!

But Honey’s not made for those whom you sting.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pulled in waves -

Echoes through brain -

Stimulates the senses -

Songs are souls’ defenses.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why does the sun get a special name?

Positioned ‘round another star, we’d worship it the same.

Stars are the same, aren’t they? They burn and shine and stare -

But we’ve been placed below this one to love with extra care.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I’d gotten used to the feeling of freezing.

When you came along and the cold went away I welcomed you.

Only now do I realize you’re not heat, you’re ice.

When I thought you’d thawed me out, you’d numbed me entirely.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where there is a door,

There always is a lock.

Where there is the sky there are clouds.

If I could but restore,

Or turn back the clock…

But fate never smiles on the cowed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take my mind and take my soul.

Take my thoughts, I give you control.

Take it all just leave my heart,

So I can love even in the dark.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two waves at sea

can seldom see

limit to their eternity,

but nearing sand

I understand,

so when we land,

crash into me.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Becky :)

Hi! Thank you or the universe's kindness for your stumbling upon my page. You'll find mainly poems here but there's also the occasional short story or article. Stay awhile if you'd like and either way, have an EXTRAORDINARY day :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.