Poets logo

A Changing Life

My Life in a Poem

By Piper SchillingPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Some have said

With birth

Comes death,

But how is it so,

That it lasted

Six years?

Six years

Six birthdays

Spent at funerals

Or mourning.

At least it stopped.

I was a shy child

Laughing when spoken to,

Or even crying

Being afraid of rejection.

It can do things

To any person.

The underlying anxiety

Or is it depression?

Who knows;

Told to be normal.

Not like the others!

The Internet was

A faraway land;

A land for misfits.

I fit in just fine.

Reading and writing

Watching videos

And finding interests

With other misfits.

Oh, what a time to be alive!

To open your imagination

To new ideas

And take over a life

Unlike your own

Or perhaps it is,

So you relate.

Or having an overactive

Imagination

To the point where

Dream and reality

Are the same.

I've raised stray kittens

Multiple times,

Getting them ready for

Adoptions, though it's the

Hardest part;

Watching them leave

In the arms of strangers.

One stays,

At my grandparents' house,

So visiting is frequent.

I've had those awkward

Learning-to-drive stories.

Almost backing a van

Into a ditch.

Almost backing into

My grandparents' vehicle.

But I never find it as bad

As when my mom put a car

Over a wall.

I've travelled.

To Chicago,

Where late night pizza

And sleeping in the foyer

Was the timed norm.

To New York,

Where the waterfalls

Are absolutely

Beautiful.

I joined color guard

With long hours

In the heat

To make a perfect show.

It's harder than it looks;

Maneuvering 6-ft poles

With flags whipping around you.

If you fall down,

You get back up.

It was a

New Beginning.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.