Poets logo

> a broken heart

Perfect picture

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
> a broken heart
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Social media is great at disguising the truth.

Kinda like if I were a DJ but instead of everyone seeing me, I’d be hiding behind the booth.

You see a happy family because I posted it.

The facts? Oh no the picture transposes it.

Get it? Encoded a bit.

I started off laterally but ended on the horizon.

Oops, someone sound the siren, I can feel his grip tighten.

Well atleast then I have an excuse to be numbed by one.

Don’t let that last line pass you!

But yet I’m the one being judged by his words.

What can I do?

So I just lay outside in the dark with all these bruises, and stare at the belt of Orion.

This isn’t such a picture perfect world after all.

Everyone wonders where the depression comes from but I don’t talk.

“Don’t be crazy, pick yourself up, we all fall”

They say this not knowing it ment literally for me.

Is it really worth it?

You get the perfect picture but my words are extorted!

Don’t speak on me when you have no idea what I’ve been through.

Blush and foundation can hide the distorted but can it hide tears when I had to abort it?

The relationship that is..

Then I run right back to it.

But enough about me,

How’s your day going?

That’s really great to see.

You have a beautiful family..

This poem = shorted.

-B.M.O.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.