Poets logo

Tragedy

Suicide awareness

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Tragedy
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

tragedy

We sit In church and grieve and everyone says it was a tragedy.

Tragedy…. I’m a little confused as to what you think tragedy means.

A boy with a smile isn’t what it seems to be when at school the other kids were mean and he finally lost his self esteem, and when he goes to sleep at night he has nightmares instead of dreams. He wakes up and is judged by broken shoes so he sows the seams, so they aren’t seen or so it seems, do you see?

Broken shoes, broken heart.

You watched him fall apart.

You could have shown him light but he walked in the dark. No, I’m not blaming you, just wanna have a heart to heart. Maybe for him it wouldn’t be the end it’d be a start.

Did you miss the note on the vanity, or is it your brain capacity? Life isn’t immortality! Or atleast not until we see the majesty, but we all know the effects of gravity!

And you have the audacity to call this a tragedy.. shame on you.

No.

This is just todays story about the little boy who hung himself because he was bullied.

You only went to the viewing because it was a good deed.

“But he never said anything” what do you mean!?

He pleaded as much as he could plead!

Just silently.

We all seen where his wrists would bleed, but instead of helping you ran and spread the word like a mail boy to the community.

Turn on the news, how many people across America is that today?

125 gone lives!

People open your eyes!

And that’s only 1 death from every 25 attempts!

How many more of these events before it clicks in your brain, make knowledge your domain.

Depression feels like being tied with chains to the tracks and just watching the train, but you can’t express it, because they said I complain, but the pain is excessive.

Maybe that’s why suicide rates are so progressive.

But what do I know. I’m just another person in the pew, listening to a man I don’t know say “let’s continue” while this cycle continues!

How many more bullied thin shoes?

How many more soaken tissues?

Just another prince whose taken his life because everyone else has already plucked it from the menu so really it’s already been used.

A boy who lacked sinews but I bet had 10x more knowledge then you.

By the way sinews is muscular strength. I didn’t want your brain to pop from trying to think about what “sinews” means, when you should be worried about the next kid who silently bleeds in the sink.

A chain is only as strong as it’s strongest link, but if I’m the strongest link then what does it mean when I’m mixing liquors in my drink every time I blink and I’m headed out my door to my next paid session with the shrink twice a week..

It doesn’t take a Genius to see the difference between us. But I wish they would have SEEN us, before we made that escape.

Or almost..

We all have troubles but some people are more troubled.

Don’t ignore when you see the signs before it turns into suicide.

Suicide awareness*

-B.M.O.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.